Ocean Color Image Gallery

  1. Gallery Home
  2. Image Archive Page

Two New Zealand Peninsulas

Two peninsulas along the east coast of New Zealand's South Island are associated with enhanced phytoplankton productivity offshore. The larger Banks Peninsula lies just southeast of Christchurch while the smaller Kaikoura Peninsula lies 150 kilometers to the northeast by the town of the same name.

The above Landsat 8 scene was collected on May 20, 2021. Click on it to get a much larger (73 megabyte) version showing the two peninsulas in their proper relationship to each other.